On Buffy and the Attempted Rape

Reneaux Ruffin
9 min readAug 17, 2018

Spike, I forgive you, but I’m pissed off that I do

For the newcomers, this is Buffy and Spike.

This one’s a long one y’all. While not nearly as controversial as race and dating (which is apparently VERY controversial), but it’s important to me nonetheless.

It’s been about 22 years since the premiere of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. That’s good, because we need to talk, and I’m definitely going to need alcohol to address it. I must admit that I didn’t watch the original run of the show. I recently binged it in its entirety with a friend. I absolutely loved a lot of the feminist themes, the characters, the world, basically everything. I mean I had a few problems here and there, but that’s with anything right? (But seriously, all witchcraft is evil and basically a gateway drug? Cool metaphor, but as a witch I have to scrunch my nose up.) But that’s not what I want to talk about. What I want to talk about is season 6 episode 19: “Seeing Red.”

I assume that for the most part I’m talking with fellow fans of the show, but just in case there’s anyone out there that’s reading that hasn’t seen it, this episode is notorious because it features a graphic attempted rape scene between protagonist Buffy and her dark side love interest Spike. Let me start off by saying rape is horrible. I, personally, have never been raped, but I do know several people who have been. Their stories hit me in the soul…

--

--

Reneaux Ruffin

Writer. Witch. If Garnet was obsessed with Evanescence's The Open Door tbh.